Raag Gauri (Bhairav Ang)

Swar Notations

Swaras Rishabh, Dhaivat Komal. Rest all Shuddha Swaras.
Jati Sampurna-Sampurna Vakra
Thaat Bhairav
Vadi/Samvadi Rishabh/Pancham
Time (3 PM - 6 PM): 4th Prahar of the day : Din ka Chaturtha Prahar
Vishranti Sthan
Mukhya-Ang S r S ,N S G r; m G r S r ,N S;
Aaroh-Avroh S r ,N S; S r G m P d P; P d N S' - S' N d P m G; r G m G r; S r ,N S; ,d ,N ,d S ,N S;

Raag Description: This Raag is full of compassion and piety. The melody subtly brings out the Viraha Sringar (piety from separation of lovers). It is not a deep melody like Raag Bhairav from which it is differentiated by the following combinations:

Sr Gm G ; rG rm Gr Sr ,NS ; Gm Pd P ; P d N S' ; dN dS' N ; dP mP md Pm ; G r ; S r ,N S;

The Raag manifests readily thorugh following notations: Gm Pd P ; mP md P mG ; m Gm ; PP mG r G ; rG rm G r S ,N ; Sr Gm G;